We’re coming soon. Stay tuned. 

HomeDUSU and JNUSU Elections: Quick StatsNExtraDUSU and JNUSU Elections: Quick Stats

DUSU and JNUSU Elections: Quick Stats

After much anticipation, the fortnight long spectacle finally drew its curtains yesterday, when the results for the Student Unions Elections at Delhi University and Jawaharlal Nehru University were declared. Did you miss out on something? Here are some quick statistics from both the elections:

Delhi University Student Union (DUSU) Elections

Total number of Eligible Voters (2015): 1,35,298

Voting Turn-out (2015): 58,584 (43.3%) 

Total number of Eligible Voters (2014): 1,36,821

Voting Turn-out (2014): 59,423 (43.4%)

Main Contenders:

  • Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP)
  • National Students’ Union of India (NSUI)
  • Chhatra Yuva Sangharsh Samiti (CYSS)
  • All India Students’ Association (AISA)
  • Students’ Organisation of India (SOI)
  • All India Students Federation (AISF)


  1. President: Satender Awana (ABVP)20,439 votes
  2. Vice-President: Sunny Dedha (ABVP)19,671 votes
  3. Secretary: Anjali Rana (ABVP): 14,999 votes
  4. Joint-Secretary: Chattrapal Yadav (ABVP): 16, 243 votes


  1. President: Pradeep Vijayran (NSUI): 14,112 votes
  2. Vice-President: Garima Rana (CYSS): 12, 101 votes
  3. Secretary: Amit Sehrawat (NSUI): 10,334 votes
  4. Joint-Secretary: Deepak Choudhary (NSUI): 10,178 votes

Political Twist: The new entrant CYSS (Aam Aadmi Party’s Student Wing) was expected to fare much better, and set the rules for a triangular elections, possibly dethrone last year winners ABVP. However, a below average performance turned out as quite a shock, to everyone, from students, to AAP politicians alike. NSUI fared much better than last year in these polls, considering CYSS’s entry as well.

Jawaharlal Nehru University Student Union (JNUSU) Elections

Total number of Eligible Voters (2015): Around 8,500

Voting Turn-out (2015): 53.3%

Voting Turn-out (2014): 54.58%

Main Contenders:

  • All India Students Federation (AISF)
  • Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP)
  • National Students’ Union of India (NSUI)
  • Students’ Federation of India (SFI)
  • Democratic Students’ Federation (DSF)
  • All India Students’ Association (AISA)
  • Birsa Ambedkar Phule Students’ Association (BAPSA)


  1. President: Kanhaiya Kumar (AISF)1029 votes
  2. Vice-President:  Shehla Rashid Shora (AISA)1387 votes
  3. General Secretary: Rama Naga  (AISA)1159 votes
  4. Joint-Secretary: Saurabh Kumar Sharma (ABVP): 1154 votes


  1. President: Vijay Kumar (AISA)962 votes
  2. Vice-President: Velentine Brahma (ABVP)1153 votes
  3. General Secretary: Devendra Singh Rajput (ABVP)946 votes
  4. Joint-Secretary: Hamid Raza (AISA)1126 votes

Political Twist: In this year’s elections, on one hand, AISA, which had won all the seats last year, could only retain two, ABVP managed to win one (after 14 years) and also managed to get the second position in two other positions, which is considered a remarkable feat.

(Image Source)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

© Edunuts 2023. All Right Reserved.